The foolish and wicked practice

“The foolish and wicked practice of profane cursing and swearing is a vice so mean and low that every person of sense and character detests and despises it.” — George Washington

I can’t believe it’s been over 100 days since I began these challenges. And I’ve only completed two. I am so far behind.

Today, however, that doesn’t matter because here’s another one to knock off the list – I have successfully given up swearing for 100 days! By which I mean, I have drastically cut down on the amount of swearing I usually do for 100 days! Fuck yeah!

A lot of people have been asking for the genesis of this one, and so I asked Lucy to elaborate. Unlike George Washington, Lucy didn’t set this because of a puritanical urge to curb my wicked ways, but as a challenge in creativity and articulation; swearing is easy, and most people (totally me) use it as a ‘filler’ in everyday conversation without recognising or bothering to make sure we are expressing ourselves properly. In Lucy’s words; “why not try and make ourselves think harder?”

I am 100% behind this idea in principle (and there’s growing evidence that exercising your brain can help to keep you sharper for longer) but I don’t think I managed it very well, I just substituted sugar for shite and fiddlesticks for fucks without really altering my thought process. Plus I really missed the cathartic release of a good swear, so I won’t be continuing with the challenge now that the 100 days are up.

There’s an interesting explanation about the different types (and benefits) of swearing on this blog post and I definitely recognised the importance of the ‘social bonding’ thing from my profanity time-out. It was weird not replying to sweary friends with similar expletives, and meeting new people felt awkward as I found myself responding to rude anecdotes or spicy remarks with a goody-two-shoes “goodness me”.

Despite my noble intentions I still accidentally let slip an average of just under 2 obscenities per day. That may sound like a lot but a single stubbed toe (“fuck fuck ow shit bollocks fuck”) can really scupper a girl’s plans. I’ve donated £92.50 (50p per swear) to the Alzheimer’s Society as penance, and will now go back to my wicked, profane ways.

Adios, motherfuckers.

Leave a Reply

